Skip to main content

South Valley Journal

Utah Film Critics Award "Mad Max" as best of 2015

Dec 22, 2015 01:16PM ● By Dan Metcalf

Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron in Mad Max: Fury Road - © 2015 Warner Bros.

Th Utah Film Critics Association handed out their annual awards on Dec. 21, giving highest honors to George Miller's Mad Max: Fury Road. The film also garnered wins for Miller as best director and John Seale for cinematography.

Top acting awards went to Brie Larson for her portrayal as an abducted teen raising her son in confinement in Room, while Leonardo DiCaprio was honored for his role as frontier guide out to avenge the death of his son in The Revenant

For their supporting performances, Rose Byrne won for her comedic portrayal of a vicious socialite in Spy, while Sylvester Stallone won for reprising his role as Rocky Balboa in Creed.

Pixar's Inside Out won best animated feature and was also honored for its original screenplay, written by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley.

See below for a complete list of winners in all categories, along with runners up.

Best Picture: 

(Runner-up: THE MARTIAN)

Best Director: 
George Miller, MAD MAX: FURY ROAD
(Runner-up: Ridley Scott, THE MARTIAN)

Best Actress: 
Brie Larson, ROOM
(Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, BROOKLYN)

Best Actor: 
Leonardo DiCaprio, THE REVENANT
(Runner-up: Matt Damon, THE MARTIAN)

Best Supporting Actress: 
Rose Byrne, SPY
(Runner-up: Alicia Vikander, EX MACHINA)

Best Supporting Actor: 
Sylvester Stallone, CREED
(Runner-up: Oscar Isaac, EX MACHINA)

Best Original Screenplay: 
Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve & Josh Cooley, INSIDE OUT
(Runner-up: SPOTLIGHT)

Best Adapted Screenplay: 
Drew Goddard, THE MARTIAN 
(Runner-up: Nick Hornby, BROOKLYN)

Best Cinematography: 
(Runner-up: Emmanuel Lubezki, THE REVENANT)

Best Documentary: 
(Runner-up: AMY)

Best Non-English Language Feature: 
(Runner-up: SON OF SAUL)

Best Animated Feature:

The Utah Film Critics Association is comprised of film journalists from print, online and broadcast media based in Utah. Members include: Brooks Bird,; Rich Bonaduce, Standard-Examiner (Ogden); Luke Hickman, KEGA-FM; Jimmy Martin, KSL (NBC); Sean P. Means, Salt Lake Tribune; Dan Metcalf, My Utah Journals; Andy Morgan, KNVU-AM; Ryan Michael Painter, KUTV 2; Aaron Peck, Logan Herald-Journal; Scott Renshaw, Salt Lake City Weekly; Steve Salles, KJZZ-TV; Mike Thiriot, KTHB 94.9 FM; Tony Toscano, Talking Pictures; Jenniffer Wardell, Davis Clipper News; and Doug Wright, KSL Movie Show.




Online Edition
Follow The City Journals on Facebook
Follow The City Journals on Twitter
Follow The City Journals on LinkedIn
Advertise With Us
South Valley Journal on Facebook